Life at our Flying S Farm

Trying to turn my passions into my profession

And…..mommy had a meltdown today

on June 16, 2014

I love my husband and my kids.  And I know today is father’s day therefore my husband shouldn’t have to do much of anything but hang out in his athletic shorts and play video games….however he hasn’t done much all week long as he was in Wyandott Oklahoma playing paintball all week before father’s day.
So today was family clean up day.  Work has been insane for me and the house was completely neglected.
My kids and husband had other ideas….at one point today after I had folded 2 loads of laundry, cooked breakfast, did the dishes, I was picking up the living room and in walks my 2 boys and husband, standing in my way eating chips glued to whatever was on tv.  My oldest had the audacity to ask, “What are you doing momma?”
To which I replied, “I’m doing a lil dance and singing a song….what the hell does it look like I am doing?  You are in my way so get up and clean or get out!”
My boys ran upstairs and my husband retreated to his man room to work on paintball guns 👿
He quickly thought better of it when he heard me stomping and throwing my housewife temper tantrum.
We got after the boys to clean their rooms.  I handed them a box and a trash bag, told them to place unwanted toys in said box and pick up the upstairs trash.
They had spent most of the day upstairs….I figured they got some good work accomplished.  Oh how wrong I was!!!!  The rooms were worse off than they were before and there was NOTHING in the box!!!! 
I freaked out, unplugged their tv and went on my rant of how I am going to rent a dumpster, place it outside their window and throw everything out!!!!  I walked out, slamming the door behind me, knocking a photo collage off the wall and locked myself in the restroom to take a bath!  My husband came upstairs, saw what I threw a fit about, and proceeded to get after them with a bit more tact.
I wish I could go on strike, just take off for 2 weeks, leaving the hubby and kids to their own devices…however I am certain my animals would die of starvation, the house would be infested with ants and roaches and I would still have to clean it all up.
So until we become independently wealthy, Mommy will continue to pick up, have meltdowns and hide in a bath of hot water.


Leave a comment